Wright Room, Wrong Time

I went up to The Met yesterday to take a look at the Frank Lloyd Wright Room on the first floor of the American Wing. Edgar Tafle, the fellow most instrumental in saving the room and having it installed at The Met, passed away last week and I thought it would be a nice place to go and contemplate his life and accomplishments.

Much to my disappointment, however, the room was blocked off by a series of screens. I did my best to peek in but the experience was less than illuminating.

My only consolation is that perhaps the museum closed off the room in order to install something in Tafle’s memory.  I’m going back on Saturday and will keep you posted. In the mean time, one can view Tafle’s obituary in the New York Times or learn more about the Frank Lloyd Wright Room

The Metropolitan Museum of Art1000 5th Avenue on the Upper East Side

Update: I returned to The Met on Saturday and the Wright Room was open! No acknowledgment of Tafle but beautiful nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

