Sorry for my absence…

I was on an adventure!

Last Wednesday I ran away from home and hid out at The Metropolitan Museum of Art. I snuck into the ladies restroom at closing time and would only creep out after everyone had left. I slept in a Renaissance bed with ample drapery located on the first floor and I unravelled a great art-world mystery…

Ok. So, I think I would be arrested if I actually tried to live in The Met. But that didn’t stop me from re-reading the marvelous young adult book From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, in the atrium of The American Wing. I’d fallen in love with this novel in middle school but I have to say that re-reading it at The Met was an unparalleled pleasure.

I mean, seriously, the book won a frickin Newbery Award AND is well written AND it takes place in a museum. LOVE. The main character, Claudia, is also a precocious Type B+ person like myself. I completely sympathize with her desire for planning, learning, and secret-keeping.

The New York Public Library has oodles of copies but if you’d rather have one of your very own, you can get one here very decently priced.

Leave a Reply

